Posted in Things to Do, Places to Go

Watch Live March 28th: Root for Nova Scotia Homeschooler in the Canspell Spelling Bee!

Twenty-one spellers from 21 cities across Canada are in Toronto to compete this weekend at the 8th annual Postmedia Canspell National Spelling Bee, including Cape Breton’s own homeschooler, Olivier Broussard!  Olivier is the third member of the Broussard family to win the local spelling bee and go on to Canspell.

The Canspell final takes place on Wednesday, March 28th at the CBC in downtown Toronto. You can watch the Live online streaming of the preliminary rounds this year, from 2-4pm Atlantic (1-3pm Eastern):  Click on the CBC Player to watch.  The final rounds will stream from 5:30 – 7pm AT (4:30-6pm ET) on This CBC Player.  The final rounds will also air on CBC TV on April 1st at 8pm AT (7 p.m. ET).  You can follow some of the excitement on Facebook where you can send your favourite speller a personal message (and play Spelling games), as well as through Twitter.

The winner receives the Canspell Cup and a $7,500 education award, courtesy of Egg Farmers of Canada. Second and third place spellers receive $5,000 and $2,500 respectively. The three top spellers will represent Canada at the Scripps National Spelling Bee in Washington, D.C. at the beginning of June.

Love, Luck &
Laughter,

Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Author:

Kimberly is a homeschooling mother of two living with her dear husband of over 25 years in Halifax, Nova Scotia. She works from home as a homeschool coach and offers OBM, writing, editing, social media, and tech services. In her free time she likes to hand-spin, knit, read, volunteer in local theatre, and horseback ride.

Please Leave a Reply